Elkhart Municipal Band Free Spring Concert

The Elkhart Municipal Band celebrates spring with an afternoon of the favorite musical works of American composer Aaron Copland. Copland's claim to fame arose from a series of ballets that gave him notoriety as "The Composer of American Music." Selections of these works will be performed in the program:

• The award winner for the 1945 Pulitzer Prize for music, "Appalachian Spring."
• The Great Depression love story, "The Promise of Living," from The Tender Land Suite.
• The traditional American folk tune, "Rodeo Dance Suite," is being played from the original scores of "The President's Own" U.S. Marine Band Library

"Fanfare for the Common Man" is a composition inspired by a speech in 1942 proclaiming the new era of a "Century for the Common Man."

Along with the Copland music, Elkhart's hometown band will showcase its own musicians with exciting and entertaining solos:

• Chloe Holmes on Trumpet
• Bryce Cone on AltoSax
• Michael Coleman on Xylophone

Show Times

Sunday Apr 30 Doors open 1:30PM Show starts 2:30PM
General Admission


To reserve wheelchair seating, contact the box office at (574) 293-4469

If you complete your web order and do not receive an email confirmation, your order was not processed.
Please call the Box Office at (574) 293-4469