Public invited to swearing in ceremony for Elkhart Mayor-elect Tim Neese, City Council members at Lerner Theatre

December 26, 2015

If you plan to attend next week’s swearing in ceremony for Elkhart city officials, you might want to bring along a canned food donation.

Elkhart Mayor-elect Tim Neese offered details of the swearing in ceremony in a news release issued Saturday.

The public is invited to attend and encouraged to bring canned food items for Church Community Services.

Neese and other city officials will be sworn in at noon Jan. 1 in the Crystal Ballroom at The Lerner Theatre, 410 S. Main St. in Elkhart, but visitors can arrive as early as 11 a.m, according to a news release. They can drop off their donated food items in collection bins at the theater.

The food will be donated to Church Community Services, a local facility that looks to address the problem of poverty in Elkhart.

Neese defeated Democratic incumbent Mayor Dick Moore in the Nov. 3 election.

Nine newly-elected council members will also be sworn in during the ceremony. Those include incumbent council members Brian Thomas, David Henke, Brian Dickerson, Mary Olson and Brent Curry as well as newcomers Richard Shively, Pam Kurpgeweit, Adam Bujalski and Dwight Fish.

Elkhart City Judge Charles Grodnik and City Court Clerk Sue Beadle, who were elected to new terms after running uncontested, will also be sworn in.

Former Indiana Secretary of State Ed Simcox will be the master of ceremonies, according to the news release.

Refreshments will be served after city officials are sworn in.